Fairfax County Democratic primary is June 11

graphic of ballot box

Big changes are coming to Fairfax County government as several longtime political leaders, including supervisors chair Sharon Bulova, prepare to leave office. The first step in choosing successors is set for June 11, when Fairfax County will hold a Democratic primary election for local and state offices.

The June election is a primary for Democratic Party candidates only. The county’s Republican Party committee will choose its candidates through other means. In Virginia, political parties decide how they nominate their candidates, including using caucuses, mass meetings and primary elections.

The following offices are on the June 11 ballot:

Fairfax County Board of Supervisors Chairman
Board of Supervisors, Braddock District
Board of Supervisors, Hunter Mill District
Board of Supervisors, Lee District
Board of Supervisors, Providence District
Fairfax Commonwealth’s Attorney
Virginia Senate: 31st, 33rd and 35th Districts
Virginia House of Delegates: 38th and 49th Districts

While only Democratic candidates will be the ballot, any registered voter can vote on June 11. Virginia holds open primaries, and voters don’t register by party.

Absentee voting

In-person absentee voting is available until June 8 at 5 p.m. There are 20 valid reasons to vote absentee in Virginia, including working and commuting for 11 or more hours on election day. Check the list provided by the Virginia Department of Elections to see if you are eligible.

Currently, the only location to vote absentee in-person is the Fairfax County Government Center, Conference Rooms 2 & 3, 12000 Government Center Parkway, during these hours:

Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Fridays: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Thursdays: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Saturdays, June 1 and June 8: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

On June 8 only, 10 extra absentee voting locations will be open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. in addition to the Government Center:

Franconia Governmental Center
Herndon Fortnightly Library
Lorton Library
Mason Governmental Center
McLean Governmental Center
Mount Vernon Governmental Center
North County Governmental Center
Providence Community Center
Sully Governmental Center
West Springfield Governmental Center

Election Day voting

Voters must go their regular polling place on election day, June 11. All 243 polling places in the county will be open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Because some poll locations have changed since the November 2018 general election, voters should confirm their polling place online through the Virginia Department of Elections.

Check your registration

Voters should also confirm they are registered by checking on the Virginia Department of Elections website. To vote in the June 11 primary, the last day to register or update your information is May 20.


About the Author

Truman Lewis
A former reporter and bureau chief, Truman Lewis has covered presidential campaigns, state politics and stories ranging from organized crime to environmental and consumer protection.