Stewart, Wexton, Comstock win primaries in Fairfax County

graphic of ballot box

Prince William County Board Chair Corey Stewart has won a narrow victory in Tuesday’s GOP Senate primary in Virginia. Stewart captured 44.9 percent of the vote, squeezing by state Delegate Nick Freitas, who came away with 43.1 percent. Pastor E. W. Jackson received just 12 percent.

Stewart is a vocal supporter of President Trump. Early this morning Trump tweeted his congratulations:


Congratulations to Corey Stewart for his great victory for Senator from Virginia. Now he runs against a total stiff, Tim Kaine, who is weak on crime and borders, and wants to raise your taxes through the roof. Don’t underestimate Corey, a major chance of winning!

Stewart will face incumbent Democratic Senator Tim Kane in November.

In Virginia’s 10th Congressional District, which covers parts of Fairfax County, Jennifer Wexton handily defeated five other candidates in her Democratic primary victory. Wexton walked away with 41.8 percent of the vote. Her closest challenger, Alison Friedman, could muster only 23 percent. Lindsey Stover received 16.1 percent while Dan Helmer, Paul Pelletier and Julia Biggins combined for only 19.1 percent.

Wexton, an attorney and former prosecutor, has represented Virginia’s 33rd Senatorial District since 2014. She’ll face incumbent Republican Barbara Comstock in November. Comstock had no trouble defeating primary challenger Shak Hill, chalking up 60.7 percent of the vote.



About the Author

Ed Tobias
Ed Tobias brings more than four decades of reporting and news management experience to his work at FairfaxNews. Tobias managed news coverage for Associated Press Radio for over twenty years.  This included coverage of the 9/11 attacks, the Iraq War, Hurricane Katrina, the death of Princess Diana, the Challenger and Columbia shuttle disasters and national election primaries, conventions and campaigns.  He was part of the team that built AP’s on-line video operation. Prior to joining AP, Tobias was News Director at all-news WTOP in Washington, D.C. He has won two Ohio State Awards for his reporting and producing and he led coverage that won an Edward R. Murrow Award.