Metro expands Wi-Fi and includes Virginia stations

Free Wi-Fi service is now available in 24 more Metro rail stations, and four of them are in Virginia.

Those four are Rosslyn, Crystal City, Courthouse and Clarendon.

The new stations bring to 30 the total number of Wi-Fi enabled Metro rail stations. The free service was first offered in April at Metro Center, Gallery Place, L’Enfant Plaza, Judiciary Square and Archives.

Here’s the full list of stations where Wi-Fi was added Thursday:


  • Farragut North
  • Dupont Circle
  • Cleveland Park
  • Van Ness-UDC
  • Tenleytown-AU
  • Friendship Heights
  • Bethesda
  • Medical Center
  • Forest Glen
  • Wheaton
  • Glenmont
  • McPherson Sq
  • Farragut West
  • Foggy Bottom-GWU
  • Rosslyn
  • Crystal City
  • Smithsonian
  • Mt Vernon Sq
  • Columbia Heights
  • Waterfront
  • Navy Yard-Ballpark
  • Anacostia
  • Court House
  • Clarendon

Metro says that all of the remaining underground stations will have Wi-Fi by mid-2018.

The Wi-Fi supplements existing cellular service, which is already available at all Metro stations. Wireless voice and data service is also available in underground tunnel segments on the Red Line from Glenmont to Silver Spring and on the Orange, Silver and Blue lines from Metro Center to Stadium-Armory. Work is underway to provide full cell service in all tunnel segments.



About the Author

Ed Tobias
Ed Tobias brings more than four decades of reporting and news management experience to his work at FairfaxNews. Tobias managed news coverage for Associated Press Radio for over twenty years.  This included coverage of the 9/11 attacks, the Iraq War, Hurricane Katrina, the death of Princess Diana, the Challenger and Columbia shuttle disasters and national election primaries, conventions and campaigns.  He was part of the team that built AP’s on-line video operation. Prior to joining AP, Tobias was News Director at all-news WTOP in Washington, D.C. He has won two Ohio State Awards for his reporting and producing and he led coverage that won an Edward R. Murrow Award.