Wednesday is Walk-to-School Day

walk to school

Fairfax County Public Schools (FCPS) will participate in International Walk to School Day on Wednesday, October 4, in an effort to promote physical activity and reduce traffic congestion and pollution near schools.

Students and employees are encouraged to bike or walk to school and work on October 4. Parents are encouraged to accompany their children to school, and to work with their school and PTA or PTO to assemble bike trains or walking groups for the event. Schools are encouraged to register online with Walk and Bike to School.

To date, the following schools have registered to participate in Walk to School Day:

  • Aldrin Elementary
  • Belle View Elementary
  • Brookfield Elementary
  • Burke School
  • Bush Hill Elementary
  • Cameron Elementary
  • Canterbury Woods Elementary
  • Centreville Elementary
  • Cherry Run Elementary
  • Chesterbrook Elementary’
  • Churchill Road Elementary
  • Clearview Elementary
  • Colvin Run Elementary
  • Cub Run Elementary
  • Cunningham Park Elementary
  • Deer Park Elementary
  • Dogwood Elementary
  • Fairhill Elementary
  • Flint Hill Elementary
  • Forest Edge Elementary
  • Fort Belvoir Elementary
  • Fort Hunt Elementary
  • Franklin Middle
  • Freedom Hill Elementary
  • Frost Middle
  • Graham Road Elementary
  • Greenbriar East Elementary
  • Greenbriar West Elementary
  • Halley Elementary
  • Haycock Elementary
  • Hayfield Elementary
  • Herndon Elementary
  • Herndon Middle
  • Hollin Meadows Elementary
  • Hybla Valley Elementary
  • Island Creek Elementary
  • Kent Gardens Elementary
  • Kilmer Middle
  • Kings Glen Elementary
  • Lake Anne Elementary
  • Lane Elementary
  • Lees Corner Elementary
  • Liberty Middle
  • Marshall Road Elementary
  • McNair Elementary
  • Mosby Woods Elementary
  • North Springfield Elementary
  • Oak Hill Elementary
  • Oak View Elementary
  • Olde Creek Elementary
  • Parklawn Elementary
  • Poplar Tree Elementary
  • Powell Elementary
  • Riverside Elementary
  • Rocky Run Middle
  • Rolling Valley Elementary
  • Rose Hill Elementary
  • Sandburg Middle
  • Sangster Elementary
  • Saratoga Elementary
  • Spring Hill Elementary
  • Springfield Estates Elementary
  • Stenwood Elementary
  • Stone Middle
  • Stratford Landing Elementary
  • Sunrise Valley Elementary
  • Terra Centre Elementary
  • Terraset Elementary
  • Thoreau Middle
  • Twain Middle
  • Union Mill Elementary
  • Vienna Elementary
  • Virginia Run Elementary
  • Wakefield Forest Elementary
  • Waynewood Elementary
  • Westbriar Elementary
  • Westgate Elementary
  • Westlawn Elementary
  • Willow Springs Elementary
  • Wolftrap Elementary

FCPS has compiled information on walking and biking to school, including information on applying for grants and safety tips, on its Safe Routes to School web page.

Motorists are urged to be vigilant of bikers and pedestrians on Bike to School Day.


About the Author

Truman Lewis
A former reporter and bureau chief, Truman Lewis has covered presidential campaigns, state politics and stories ranging from organized crime to environmental and consumer protection.