County Students Win Awards at Journalism Convention

Fairfax County Public Schools (FCPS) student journalists were honored for their work on student publications at the Journalism Education Association (JEA)-National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) fall convention held last weekend in San Antonio.

Best of Show

Publications recognized with NSPA Best of Show awards included:

Honorable mention

  • Earning Honorable Mentions were: in the Cartooning Award competition, Jessica Tang of McLean High School for her Editorial Cartoon that appeared in The Highlander and Marina Fondin of Oakton High School for her Comic Panel-Strip that appeared in Opus; and in the Design of the Year competition, Hannah Heile and Melanie Ta of McLean High School for their Yearbook Spread for The Clan; and Cathy Keiss and Na He Jeon of Langley High School for their Newspaper Spread for Saxon Scope.
  • Chantilly High School English and journalism teacher Mary Kay Downes received the Medal of Merit Award for making significant contributions to scholastic journalism.

In the Write-Off competition, Superior ratings were earned by the following FCPS students: 

Excellent ratings were earned by the following students:

Honorable mention

Honorable Mentions were awarded to Callie Chute of Madison High School, Yearbook Copy-Caption: Student Life;

Complete results are available here.