Thirty-Seven County Schools Receive Three-Year Waivers From Annual Accreditation

Thirty-seven Fairfax County public schools, designated as high performing schools, have been offered a three-year waiver from annual accreditation by the Virginia Department of Education.

The schools were selected by earning pass rates of 95 percent or higher in all four tested Standards of Learning (SOL) content areas for two consecutive years. School districts have until July 1 to apply for the waiver; each school awarded a waiver will remain fully accredited through the 2014-15 school year.

The Fairfax County schools that are eligible for the waiver include:


  • Chesterbrook
  • Churchill Road
  • Colvin Run
  • Fairfax Villa
  • Flint Hill
  • Floris
  • Fox Mill
  • Great Falls
  • Greenbriar West
  • Haycock
  • Hunters Woods
  • Louise Archer
  • Mantua
  • Mosby Woods
  • Navy
  • Oak Hill
  • Spring Hill
  • Union Mill
  • Westbriar
  • Westgate
  • Willow Springs and
  • Wolftrap


  • Carson
  • Cooper
  • Franklin
  • Frost
  • Irving
  • Kilmer
  • Longfellow
  • Rocky Run and
  • Thoreau

High schools

  • Langley
  • Madison
  • McLean
  • Oakton and
  • Woodson and
  • Thomas Jefferson High for Science and Technology

In 2006, the Virginia Board of Education authorized waivers from annual accreditation for high-performing schools. Schools granted waivers continue to administer SOL tests and detailed grade-by-grade and subject-by-subject results are reported to parents and the public.


About the Author

Truman Lewis
A former reporter and bureau chief, Truman Lewis has covered presidential campaigns, state politics and stories ranging from organized crime to environmental and consumer protection.