Candidates In Place for Herndon Elections

The slates are set for the May 1 Herndon town elections.

Candidates for the office of Mayor for the 2012-2014 term of the Herndon Town Council are Lisa C. Merkel, Jasbinder Singh, and William B. “Bill” Tirrell, Sr. All are current Town Council members.

Candidates for the six Town Council seats include Eric H. Boll, Jeffrey L. Davidson, Connie Haines Hutchinson, C. Melissa Jonas, David A. Kirby, Sheila A. Olem, Charlie D. Waddell, David N. Webster II and Grace Han Wolf. Hutchinson, Olem and Wolf are incumbents.

The Herndon Community Center, 814 Ferndale Avenue, is the sole polling place for town elections. Residents of the Town of Herndon who are eligible but not registered to vote have until April 9 to get registered. Voter registration applications are available through the Fairfax County General Registrar’s office at (703)222-0776 or online. Completed applications must be printed and mailed, or delivered in person, to the General Registrar, 12000 Government Center Parkway, Suite 323, Fairfax VA  22035-0081.

Absentee voting 

To apply for an absentee ballot by mail, the Fairfax County Office of Elections must receive an absentee ballot application from a qualified voter no later than April 24. Absentee ballot applications may be obtained in person no later than April 28, 2012, at the Fairfax County Office of Elections. Applications are available at county government centers and libraries or may be downloaded from the county’s Website.

Voter registration forms and absentee ballot applications also are available in the Town Clerk’s office, 777 Lynn Street, Herndon, (703) 435-6804.