Three Park Authority Board Members Reappointed

The Fairfax County Board of Supervisors has reappointed three members of the Fairfax County Park Authority Board.

Reappointed were Marie Reinsdorf, Edward Batten and Harold Strickland.  The 12-member Park Board has members representing each magisterial district as well as three at-large members. The Park Board sets policy and establishes priorities for the park agency.  Members are appointed for four-year terms.


Marie Reinsdorf is an at-large member, residing in the Mason District, who was first appointed in April 2008.  Her service includes membership on the Administration, Management and Budget Committee.  She is the chair of the Diversity and Succession Committee, serves as a member of the Awards Committee as well as the Planning and Development Committee. The board liaison for trails and also the Library Board, Reinsdorf works for the law firm of Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom in Washington, DC, as a computer specialist.


Edward R. Batten, Sr., has served as the Lee District representative since January 2003. Since becoming a member of the Park Board, Batten has been the liaison to the Park Foundation. He serves as chairman of the Park Services Committee and also presides as vice chair of the Diversity and Succession Committee and chairman of the Nominating Committee. He is a member of the Administration, Management and Budget Committee and Resource Management committees.  Prior to his appointment, Batten worked for AT&T Global Strategy and Operations as an International Human Resources Manager. He retired in 1999 after nearly 27 years of service. Batten is a veteran of the U.S. Air Force and a Vietnam veteran.


Harold Strickland represents the Sully District on the Park Board, a post he has held since his appointment in 1992.  He has served as chairman six times.  This past July, he received the National Voluntary Service Award presented by the National Recreation and Parks Association. Last year, the Board of Supervisors honored Strickland for his many years of service on the Park Board, presenting him with the Lawrence V. Fowler Award.

Strickland is a member of the Administration, Management and Budget Committee, the Diversity and Succession Committee, as well as chairman of the Funding Policy and Bond Committee. He is also a member of the Strategic Planning and Initiatives Committee.