Three County Student Publications Named NSPA Pacemaker Finalists

Three Fairfax County Public Schools (FCPS) student publications have been named finalists for the Pacemaker Award from the National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA).

Finalists for the NSPA Newspaper Pacemaker Award are:

tjToday, Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology, Rabia Idrees, editor, and Jennifer Seavey, adviser.

Valor Dictus, Robinson Secondary School, Kaitlin Mackie, editor, and Stephanie Axelrod, adviser.

The finalist in the Newsmagazine category for junior high and middle school is The Bruin Times, Lake Braddock Secondary School, Kathryn Helmke, adviser.

Awards will be presented at the Journalism Education Association (JEA)-NSPA National High School Journalism convention in Minneapolis in November.