County Board Recommends Names for Dulles Metrorail Stations

Tysons-McLean, Herndon-Dulles East, Reston-Wiehle Ave. You could be hearing those a lot in the next few years.

Those are among the names the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors has recommended for the eight Metrorail stations that are part of the Dulles Metrorail Project.

The names, which must be approved by the Washington Metro Transit Authority board of directors, are as follows:

  • Tysons-McLean
  • Tysons I & II
  • Tysons Central
  • Tysons-Spring Hill Rd
  • Reston-Wiehle Ave
  • Reston Town Center
  • Herndon-Reston West
  • Herndon-Dulles East

Each proposed station name connotes a community: Tysons, Reston, Herndon, or McLean. Some include street names while others include the name of shopping malls and a town center.

The 23-mile transit line will run from Tysons to Dulles International Airport to the rest of the region, and the project comprises a total of 11 Metrorail stations, eight of which are located in Fairfax County.

The four stations in Tysons are scheduled to be up and running in mid-2013.